A Graphic Design blog showing my work, inspiration and development throughout my time at Huddersfield University.

1: Looking at Typography – Creating a Geometric Typeface

Leave a comment

In todays workshop, we began on the brief we were given last week on creating our own Typefaces. We looked at images and created fonts based on those images.

I decided to look into popular culture in design, and at the moment Geometrical shapes are very popular. I love geometric shape tattoos, so personally this was an area I wanted to look into and decided this would be a good opportunity to explore it.

Image

This is my original image I decided to take inspiration from, geometric shapes are about pattern and intricate design, so a galaxy photography would work really well with my work, as well as this mandala, which uses the intricate geometric style.

Image

So from looking at these images, I created an A-Z Geometric font using triangle tools.

Image

Image

These were my initial ideas, and I developed four of the letters into how they could look as a sole piece of illustrative typography.

Triangle_Font_R Triangle_Font_C Triangle_Font_A Triangle_Font_M
I was really happy with my results, and look forward to exploring typography further!

Leave a comment